Beauty

ISPA 2011 Conference & Expo.... Day 2!


Just had to peek in for a minute and share some of my absolute favorite brands at ISPA 2011. This year has been quite an amazing experience for Tres Chic Style. I have been  afforded the unique opportunity to meet and chat with the brands, as well as gain insight into the brand's mission and goals. As a media professional I attend presentations, expos and endless conferences each year. None quite compare to ISPA.

The association is committed to the Spa industry and allow their members to gain knowledge and internalize information on this constantly evolving industry. The overall feeling at the conference this year was energizing and quite exciting for me. I promise to share my entire experience and even deliver some footage from the expo floor.

In the meantime.. Here are some of my faves.. Enjoy!


I wish our computers were equipped with smell-a-vision, because OMG.. Tasha & Co. has some of the most sensual and exquisite fragrances ever developed. The line was created out of  necessity by Tasha Noriega. Tasha shared her passion for all things natural and wanted to extend her passion into a body and wellness brand that is sure to become spa favorite. The organic line is comprised of scrubs, candles, lotions, oils, shampoos and conditioners. Currently I am totally smitten with  the Papaya Lemon Blossom body scrub and polish. My skin has been all kinds of fabulous and glowing while in Vegas, thanks to Tasha!

Visit Tasha & Co. for additional information and to purchase of course!
I had the pleasure of chatting with Tasha and will include the video footage shortly.... Stay Tuned!

And if you've ever been dreaming of a scent that smells good enough to eat.. You have truly directed your browser to the right direction today!

Farm House Fresh Goods is not only Oprah's favorite.. I think it's quickly become mine as well!
With luxe body treats like Whoopie Cream (yeah, the kind you eat...), Honey Suckle Custard, Fluffy Bunny Cream and Sweet Cream Milk you've landed into a wonderland of bliss.


These products are made with love, creativity and in the USA! The darling founders were super sweet and took the time to share their vision with Tres Chic Style. This brand has a myriad of products that can appeal to everyone on your holiday gift list.


Sweet Cream Body Milk

Visit Farm House Fresh Goods for additional information and I'll post my segment with the founders in a bit..
My apologies for the delay dolls.... I am in Vega after all! Ha!


Chic Calendar Alert: Friday's at the Sephora Beauty Studio....


This spring, TGIF takes on a whole new meaning with Fridays at the Sephora Beauty Studio! Sephora is a beautynista's favorite destination for the latest beauty trends, and now each Friday through May 27th, all 15 Sephora locations in New York City will be hosting different interactive beauty events featuring some of the world’s top beauty brands.  

Stop in at your nearest Sephora store to transform your look in minutes with a free Express Service.... No appointment needed!


A few highlights for this Friday, April 22nd

DKNY Fragrance at Sephora Times Square, 12-6pm:
  • Celebrate the new DKNY eau de toilette and strike a pose with supermodels Anja Rubik & Sasha Knezevic and their entourage of DKNY taxis from 12-1pm! Be the first to try this ultimate New York fragrance, DKNY Women, and take photos with DKNY supermodels (and real life couple!) Anja Rubik & Sasha Knezevic*.
*Product purchase of DKNY Women eau de toilette is necessary to meet Anja & Sasha.

Make Up For Ever at Sephora Union Square, 1-7pm:
  • HD Complexion Express Service
Look photo shoot ready in a snap! Learn every detail in creating a flawless HD complexion from foundation to brush and blush suggestions.

ghd at Sephora 42nd & Madison,12-6 pm:
·         Have a Hair Affair with ghd
Straighten, smooth, curl and twirl hair with the pro’s from ghd and their Classic 1” styler.

SUPER by Dr. Nicholas Perricone at Sephora 99th & Columbus, 12-6 pm:
  • Treat & Conceal Express Service
Achieve radiant, beautiful skin in minutes with the nourishing collection of skincare formulas powered by superfoods from SUPER by Dr. Nicholas Perricone.

Benefit at Sephora 5 Times Square, 3-9pm:
  • Get Gorgeous Express Service
Achieve a flirtatious, weekend look in 5 easy steps with the Benefit beauty mavens!

AmorePacific at Sephora 76th & Broadway, 2-8pm:
  • Six Step Skincare Express Service
Rejuvenate your skin with a mini facial and personalized skin analysis from the skincare experts at AmorePacific.

Sunday, April 17, 2011


Chic Beauty Indulgence of the Moment: DEX New York Cosmetics

Recently I was invited to the Spring/Summer Preview of Dex New York Cosmetics... As a self professed beautynista I braved the torrential downpour in New York City and sashyed on over to the 65th St. townhouse clad in my uber cute 5 inchSole Society heels. 


Fashion & Beauty is a part of my genetic makeup neither rain nor sleet (even snow) will allow me to forgo my keen sense of style or beauty ambissions. Anyhoos fast forward and after an unsuccessful attempt to snag a cab at Grand Central I decide to hike it on the train and grab a cross town bus. I was moving.. tripod, heels and all! 


Make Up Artist Extrodinaire and DEX New York Founder Dexter Phillip


I arrive fashionably late and enter a gorgeous townhouse packed with beauty folks and media insiders. A few air kisses & mini-hugs hugs and I head over to peek in on the collection and even get a chance to chat with the man of the hour hinself. Dex was an absolute gem (and a fellow Brookynite).... Not only did he brief me on the collection he shared his passion for the beauty industry and his quest to establish a cosmetic company that would compliment women of every shade from Sweden to Sudan. Haute!




The Dish: Dex introduces a vibrant mix of runway and street inspired hues that comprise a unique collection of mineral make up. Each of the stunning products are animal cruelty-free, hypoallergenic, sun protection formulated, and eco-friendly. We Like!


Side Note: Each shade is named after iconic streets (Wall Street Onyx, High Line Metallic Blue and Schubert Alley Cantaloupe), music-filled neighborhoods (Harlem Night’s Sapphire, The Met Star White, Rockefeller Gold), idyllic New York getaway spots (Sag Harbor, Montauk) and even once-existent notorious nightclubs (Twilo, Limelight, Studio 54), that DEX himself experienced, lived through and loved, DEX brings New York’s vivacity alive through his mineral makeup collection.

I was fortunate to depart with my own customizedpalette and will share my reviews with you lovely folks shortly. In the meantime head over to DEX New York and browse the collection. I'm sure you'll love the Charlotte Palette (yes Sex and the City Charlotte), Carrol Street Ruby Girl   and Body Glow Sunless Tanner as much as I do!


Wednesday, April 13, 2011


Haute Spring Hair Trends....


You've gone shopping for the latest looks, snagged some of the seasons best shoes... Now on to your hair.....




The Bob.... Precision cuts are huge this year, whether your opting for an asymmetrical look or a blunt in your face fringe, the options are endless. Taraji's look is classic with a modern twist... Love it!!


And in case you haven't heard...there's a cut called the "Lob" (not a fan of the term) it basically refers to a longer version of the bob with or without the fringe. See... you were probably cutting edge and ya didn't even know it!!!


Long and wavy looks were seen all over the runways ...From Gucci to Anna Sui, long wavy locks dominated the runways.



Chic Up dos have always been a favorite when it comes to summer hair. Try a high/low ponytail for some grace and elegance this season.



Monday, April 11, 2011


Chic Beauty Must-Have of the Moment... SpaRitual "Face of Desitiny" Nail Color


Pastels, deep crimsons and barely there nudes are among the favorite nail color trends for Spring. Soft and romantic hues show off your girly side, while deep plums and crimsons tend to vamp your personality up a bit. The choices this season are endless, so i f you've ever dreamed of experimenting with color, this may finally be your chance.....


Get peachy keen with a splash of color everyone's sure to love.. It's classic, timeless and perfect as an everyday shade. Peaches are a lil' something extra if nudes or french manicures have become your staple! I've recently fallen head over heels for SpaRitual "Face of Destiny". The rich and sassy color is the perfect compliment to my caramel skin and works well with most of my daily ensembles. "Face of Destiny" is a part of the Spring 2011 Truth Collection and available at your local spa or nail salon.

For Additional Information: www.sparitual.com


Thursday, April 7, 2011


Chic Beauty Find: Indulge in the Ecoya Love Candle for Spring!

We all need a bit of romance in our life.. This horrid winter-like weather has us all longing for gorgeous sunny days an romps by the pool. While we wait patiently for mother nature, celebrate the love you have or the one waiting around the corner for you this season with a chic indulgence fit for a princess..

The Dish: The Ecoya Love Candle is hand poured with natural soy wax. This means longer burning times and environment friendly. Accompanied by the fact someone actually took the time to hand pour, versus a factory assembly line is pretty darn special to me! Infused with a luxe Pink Champagne scent and packaged packaged in a hand pressed presentation box perfect for gift giving.

Ecoya Love Candle, available at Candelirium , $36

*Hint... A perfect Mother's Day Gift that will truly make mom smile!

Tuesday, April 5, 2011


Chic Beauty Buzz: Spring In Some Color With Jafra Cosmetics Full Coverage Lipstick...

Recently I was compelled to spice things up a bit with my make-up and looked to Jafra Cosmetics to assist me in my quest. Jafra Cosmetics International recently launched the professional-inspired collection, which also happens to be the first update to the line in 10 years! I was uber excited to review the line and share my take with my fiercely loyal Tres Chic Style "Beautynistas" like you.


The Jafra Full Coverage Lispstick is my new beauty must-have for Spring.... It's rich in pigment which provides long-wear, absolutely no fading and just the perfect amount of shine to keep your pouts picture perfect all day. I'm always a bit timid and shy when it comes to switching up my look. I'm a simple gal when it comes to my make-up. I adore a dramatic eye, peachy cheeks and my lips are often adorned with soft nudes & luxe glosses. Naturally when the fab folks over at Jafra sent over this sassyVery Cherry lip color I was compelled to give it a whirl....

Let's just say I absolutely love the color and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the product. Reds tend to fade and feather. The Jafra Lipstick collection is literally fail-proof. The color is uber rich and delivers a dash of sexy! I can remember tinkering with various shades of red in my 20's and feeling like a beauty misfit tangled in a horrid music video. I was never able to find my correct shade or a hue that really made me pop..


That was until  Jafra.....Voila! My demure pout just made a splash for Spring and I'm totally loving it!
I can actually get through an entire day without re-applying and my lips feel buttery smooth and soft in part to the Jojoba etsers and Avocado butter imparts. As an added bonus, the collection is infused with Vitamin E, a secret agent that assists with those pesky fine lines caused by sun damage and aging. 

Snag yours at Jafra Cosmetics

Friday, April 1, 2011


Tips to Finding Your Perfect Scent...




Your Perfect Scent

Your age is the most influential thing that shapes what scents you’re attracted to. Long gone are the days of a signature scent; some women change it up every few years, while others make a switch depending on their mood.  Studies show that our sense of smell evolves over time, which affects our fragrance preferences. The editors of Women’s Health magazine help you find your perfect scent according to your age!

Late teens: Teens sport sweet scents to form their personal identity, define their territory and fit in socially. Try more grown-up sweet smells or, choose sophisticated sweet notes such as peach or grapefruit.

Twenties: The biggest reason twenty-something’s get their spray on is to feel more attractive to others. Experts say women in this age-group, who are typically taking home entry-level paychecks, are more drawn to luxury brands. Uplifting floral fragrances, such as jasmine, lily of the valley and magnolia top the list of favorites for women in this age bracket.

Thirties:  At this age, a woman uses scents to feel sexy and secure---and if she’s coupled up, to tantalize her man.  By the time a woman hits 30, she is more established in her career and relationship and is looking for a scent to reflect that. Look for a floral with a warm base note, such as musk, which will satisfy your need for a sexy scent.

Forties+: In their forties and fifties, women choose fragrances that please themselves. The olfactory system weakens with age, making it harder to detect subtle smells. Women in their forties love are more likely to wear strong grass or woody scents. Get your fix with a bold floral that contains crisp green notes, or go sultrier by opting for a woody base note like sandalwood.

For more beauty advice, check outWomensHealthMag.com or pickup the April issue of Women’s Health on newsstands now!

Thursday, March 31, 2011


Minnie Mortimer Sample Sale....


What: Minnie Mortimer Sample Sale
The Dish: Up to 80% off women’s clothing at the Minnie Mortimer Sample Sale
When: 4/1, F (9-8)
Where: 1201 Broadway, Loft 601, New York

Tuesday, March 29, 2011


Dr. Channing Barnett Decodes Skin Care Advertising Hype.....



By now, you've probably seen buzzwords like "all natural," "hypoallergenic" and "patented" hundreds of times. But have you ever stopped to ask what they really mean?

Beauty companies love terms like these because they suggest concrete benefits that don't have to be backed up by science. In fact, as long as they don't claim to change the body's structure or function, companies don't need FDA approval to market new products to the public and are not required to provide any research to prove their claims. These days, one would almost need a degree in chemistry to understand some of the catch phrases on skin care products.

Channing Barnett, M.D. is a board certified New York City based dermatologist poised to assist beautynistas in search of understanding what the frequently used terms actually mean.

6 Terms that are often misunderstood....

1. "Patented" or "pantent pending"

Patents can be granted to companies that manufacture or combine materials in new ways. But just because something is patented doesn't mean it works.

2. "All natural"

This one really bugs me! It doesn't mean the product is organic or chemical-free. After all, chemicals are "natural," too.

3. "Organic"

The US Department of Agriculture certifies organic food ingredients found in cosmetics, but not essential oils or plants used for cosmetic purposes. To carry the USDA Organic seal, a product must contain at least 95% organic food ingredients (read What Does Organic Really Mean in Skin Products?). Other countries have their own organic certification labels, such as COSMOS and NaTrue in the European Union and NASAA in Australia. Read COSMOS Standardizes Organic Product Labels to learn more.

4. "Hypoallergenic"

Think this guarantees you won't have a reaction? Think again. These products can still contain ingredients some people are allergic to, including preservatives and fragrance.

5. "Fragrance-free"

These products may not have a noticeable smell, but can still contain "masking" scents to cover up ingredients with unpleasant odors. Look for the words "no fragrance added" instead.

6. "Non-comedogenic"

While non-comedogenic products are usually oil-free and therefore less likely to cause breakouts, there's no guarantee they won't. In fact, many contain dimethicone, a known acne aggravator.

7. Helps pre-mature aging."  
 Perhaps the most appealing of all claims from a consumer standpoint is this statement.  If a product truly prevented premature aging by affecting the structure of the skin, it would be classified as a drug and therefore would require FDA approval.  Manufactures circumvent this by utilizing the fact that sunscreens prevent premature aging by decreasing the damaging effects of ultraviolet light on the skin. Therefore, if a product contains sunscreen, it may state "prevents premature aging' on the label." 




About Channing Barnett, M.D.
Dr. Channing Barnett is a board certified dermatologist, with particular expertise in dermatologic and cosmetic surgery. A co-founder of Barnett Dermatology, Dr. Barnett is committed to helping her patients reveal and maintain the healthiest skin possible.  She is nationally and internationally recognized as a leader in the use of liquid injectable silicone as a filler, as well as for her pioneering work in dermatology and dermatologic and cosmetic surgery.  The cornerstone of Dr. Barnett’s successful Manhattan practice is her philosophy of using minimally invasive procedures for maximum skin care results and long-term benefits. Dr. Barnett’s commitment to patient care and continued involvement in the research and development of new dermatological procedures ensures that her patients receive the most effective and sophisticated treatments available. 

A graduate of Princeton University where she played on the women’s varsity basketball team and won a league championship, Dr. Barnett received her medical degree from Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She then completed a surgical internship at Lenox Hill Hospital, followed by a dermatology fellowship at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center. During the fellowship she worked on clinical trials investigating hair loss, skin cancer, nail disease and psoriasis. Dr. Barnett went on to complete a three-year residency in Dermatology at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center.

For additional information or to schedule a consultation: www.barnettdermatology.com

Friday, March 25, 2011


Tres Chic Style TV: Tocca Beauty Spring 2011 Launch Event


Join Beauty Maven Mally Roncal at Henri Bendel's in NYC...



Mallynista Alert....


Head on over to  Henri Bendel March 31, 2011 6:00pm-7:30pm for a Master Class. Snag tips and meet the fabulous Mally!


Cost:  $50 (redeemable in product)

Also the amazingly talented Mally Beauty artists will be in the atrium from March 29th - April 4th ready to give you a personal consultation.

Visit Mally's  website for additional information 
Call Henri Bendel at 212-904-7974 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            212-904-7974      end_of_the_skype_highlighting to book your appointment today...

Henri Bendel
712 Fifth Avenue
(between 55th and 56th Street)
New York, New York 10019


Thursday, March 24, 2011


Luxury Brand TOCCA Supports Japan Relief Efforts....



Head to Tocca and snag your favorites and feel great by donating to such a profound and worth while cause. From March 24th-April 1st 50% of all proceeds from www.Tocca.com will be donated to the Red Cross to support the releif efforts following The Japanese Earthquake and Tsunami.

Use code: HELPJAPAN to save an additional 15% off

Tuesday, March 22, 2011


Tres Chic Style TV: Beauty Talk with En Pointe Skin Solutions Founder, Christine Rodgers, MD


Recently I was afforded the opportunity to meet Christine Rodgers, MD , Founder of En Pointe Skin Solutions while at a Beauty Press media event. Dr. Rodgers chatted with Tres Chic Style about the benefits of plastic surgery and her breakthrough skin care system that was created to empower women and keep them beautiful.

Thursday, March 17, 2011


Smartphones Giving you Wrinkles?? Blackberry Botox May be Just What the Dr. Ordered....

We've all heard of Botox and some of us are even guilty of a little whirl here and there..

Blackberry Botox is a new and emerging trend in the world of plastic surgery. The term was coined as the result in the rise of Botox procedures brought about by the obsessive yet necessary use of smartphones, PDA's and Iphones. Leading surgeons have realized that squinting at your phones all day can cause premature wrinkles.




The Dish: Reading messages and peeking in our Facebook and Twitter timelines on those tiny screens causes your face to scrunch up, creating tension between your brows. Over time, this will cause phoney   frown lines to develop in the brow region. Sooo not Haute!

So what's a busy gal to do??



  • Take a break.... Those endless Blackberry Messenger sessions may have to be decreased to less than 10 minutes.. The Horror! Read and glance up often to eliminate straining the eyes.
  • Increase your fonts.. Your eyes will thank you as well as your nosy, meddling co-worker reading over your shoulder.. 
  • Dim the lighting... An extensive amount of light is not only harmful to the eyes but can cause the eyes to narrow.
  • Seek the guidance of an accredited professional. Consult a plastic surgeon or an ophthalmologist regarding your concerns and the best ways to combat those Blackberry induced wrinkles...

Wednesday, March 16, 2011


Meet Tokyo’s Hello Kitty designer, Ms. Yuko Yamaguchi at Sephora TODAY....


Sephora and Hello Kitty Beauty are inviting you to this once in a lifetime event.  Hello Kitty fanatics and beauty insiders alike have the opportunity to meet Tokyo’s Hello Kitty designer, Ms. Yuko Yamaguchi this Wednesday, March 16th at 5pm at Sephora Soho.  Sephora beauty experts will also be re-creating signature Hello Kitty Beauty looks on fans while they wait.  

Sunday, March 13, 2011


Tres Chic Style TV: Tres Chic Style Heads to The International Beauty Show (IBS) 2011


Tres Chic Style TV: Beauty Talk with Ryan Darius


Recently I had the opportunity to chat with the fabulous Ryan Darius at a Keratin Complex event. Ryan was an absolute gem and eager to share some hair/beauty tips with us. As you'll see in the video above, we had an amazing time with Ryan and his team. Our tresses were styled by Rosemary  Djuravcevic and she shared awesome tips & style secrets along the way...

About Ryan: Ryan’s career began in his native Massachusetts, where he attended the Beauty Creators Academy before building acclaim for both styling and color on Boston’s prestigious Newbury Street and in the chic beach retreat of Cape Cod.  With a clientele including local celebrities, the wives of professional athletes and members of the Kennedy family, his professionalism, intuition and sincerity helped him earn his premier reputation.  

In 2006, Ryan relocated to Manhattan, where he expanded his services to include work in fashion, editorial and advertising campaigns.  Garnering a private clientele that spanned from Manhattan to the Hamptons, his dream to establish his own salon became a necessity.

Located at 82 West 12th Street, the Ryan Darius Salon is a private and relaxing retreat for clients.  Situated on the ground floor of a gated townhouse, Old Hollywood regency mixed with modern glamour, in hues of black, cream and gold, create a tastefully posh and comfortable setting.  Three stations ensure that each client gets the deserved personal attention of Ryan and his team—the ultimate luxury for today’s busy lifestyle.


For Additional Information: www.RyanDariusSalon.com

Popular Posts